top of page

Delays

Well its been a long week full of delays and appointments here in London. Fertility treatment is taking longer than expected and I will be into the third week of injections soon but hoping for egg retrieval op later next week.

We have met some more of my stem cell transplant team, had an information morning and signed my consent forms. Lots and lots of information to read through and take in, good job you get given paper handouts! They also showed pictures of what your hospital room will be like, basic and small the norm really but you get your own fridge so thats a plus.

Its all getting very close now and a provisional date is set for a little later than planned, looking at admission to start my chemo in november it will be a 6 to 8 week stay in hospital starting with 7 days intensive chemo then my transplant of donor stem cells. The long part is waiting for the cells to graft and new cells to grow rather than the transplant itself.

lots of tests but painless ones this week chest xray, echocardiogram, scans and lots and lots of blood tests. All these tests are to make sure your body is strong enough to go through the treatment.

So after a over two weeks in London and at least another week to go I am ready for a bit of time at home before my long stint in London for transplant.

Next week I have more tests including some more lung tests and lots of scans! Still to do is another bone marrow biopsy and Hickman line insertion but hopefully I will have a couple of weeks rest before these!

SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page