top of page

Nerves, hair and packing

In a few days time I will be off to London for the final time before transplant. Its a strange mix of nerves, excitement for the future and dread of the treatment to come.

All went well with the bone marrow biopsy last week apart from being painful luckily it didnt take as long as the last time.

Next Tuesday will be my Hickman line operation, a hickman line is a small tube which goes into a main vein near your heart and has little toggles on the end just like the ones they put in your arm for administering medicine. They use these lines so that blood can be taken and the chemotherapy drugs put in easily. The risk of infection is outweighed by the benefits. I will do a blog post on this once I know more.

A few days after my line is inserted I will be admitted to hospital to start chemo and approx 9 days later will be my stem cell transplant.

At the moment I am packing, what to take that is the question. Lots of Pj's and clean clothes for each day. The other thing to think about is things to do when you are feeling well enough, such as drawing, colouring, puzzles and dvds.

Also this week I have had my hair cut short I have been cutting it in stages as I normally have long hair and think doing it in stages is a bit less stressful, cutting my hair ready for chemo is something I have been dreading but its only short term and will all being well grow back. You can just leave it as it is but I dont think I could bear having it fall out in clumps a few weeks after chemo, at least if its short there isnt much to fall out.

SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page