top of page

The good, the bad & the ugly

The good news is my heamoglobin blood results are continuing to increase, so it looks like the rituximab is working for now, no more blood transfusions for a while! The effects last about 7 months and by then hopefully my body will have righted itself.

Bad news is my last bone marrow biopsy showed that the chimerism, which is basically the percentage of my cells to donor cells, is not very good, there are too many of my cells. This means I may need a top up of donor cells.

Also this week I have developed a rash on my arms,back and legs if this turns out to be Graft versus host disease I may not need more donor cells as it means the donor cells are fighting mine.

We will find out for sure when I have another bone marrow biopsy in a few weeks time, my donor has been contacted just incase.

SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page