top of page

Hamster wheel & chipmunk face


Well it seems like I'm on a hamster wheel at the moment going round and round, appointments, tests, pain and nausea, you just have to keep going. Every week is different.

Not much to report have had an MRI scan of my head just to be sure theres nothing going on there after lots of headaches.

Nausea is still a problem and as my immunosuppressants have been reduced it has got worse, so next step is one of my least favourite tests of a camera into the stomach and possible biopsy to check for Graft versus host disease. If it isn't GVHD then it could be one of my many medications causing it.

Nausea has been a problem since I had my transplant but to different degrees. At the moment everything tastes horrible and taking tablets is a chore as it makes me feel even more nauseous. Trying different foods is the way to go for me toast,tea,sweet drinks are a no at the moment. I thought this was over with after the chemo but apparently not. Cold drinks and savoury foods seem best.

The low dose steroids I am on have their own batch of lovely side effects one being my face is swollen so I look like one of the chipmunks. Swelling of the face and other parts of the body are a common side effect.

Next week I will hopefully be having my Hickman line removed which means once it has healed I can finally have a lovely hot bath! showers just don't cut it on the relaxing front. If I need any transfusions in the future they can put it into my arm.

SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page